Life Back in the States — Post Studying Abroad //

IMG_3018

You’re probably wondering where the heck I’ve been these last few months. Well, I’m back in America. (sigh). It’s a cycle. When I was there the last few days, I wanted to come back home because I was dying of constant heat stroke and sleep deprivation, but now I miss Florence so much. I look back at photographs and it looks like a movie. Sometimes, I can’t even believe I was there. The entire city is so breathtaking and I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. Most of all, though, I miss my roommates. As I always said, those three girls are some of the best girls I’ve ever met. We were all so incredibly different, but still were able to get along so well. We still text frequently and talk about what we miss from Europe, but realistically, I don’t know when I will be seeing them next. Traveling is expensive and after this summer, I need to save my money. (So sad.) I have a constant urge to see new places. It’s like I don’t really know my life without adventure anymore. I am always in the mood to go out to eat, try new food, and spend time catching up with friends.

A P P R E C I A T I O N  

The number one thing that I have noticed that has changed about me is that I appreciate the little things so much more now. I’m not sure why that is, but I haven’t really been stressed this semester, even when things haven’t been going so well. It truly has been one of the best semesters, even though I have a billion and one things to do on the daily. I guess it’s because after catching so many flights, trains, and being in 100+ degree weather, you really learn that life goes on and there is so much more beauty to see than the negative situation you are currently in. It seems so cliche, but studying abroad has changed my perspective on focusing on the positive. Regardless if it was a bit tough getting back into the routine, after not being constantly busy, but I really didn’t mind it. Again, because I have learned to appreciate all of my surroundings so much better. It truly was a life changing experience and I cannot express enough how much I recommend studying abroad to anyone that is even thinking about it.

I miss the Italian lifestyle. I know at times, I would hate how slow everything was going, but I miss how passionate and genuinely interested in others the locals were. Sometimes, I feel like Americans are so egocentric and it drives me insane. I can’t even explain the number of times I’ve been talking to someone and they just go on and on about their life and don’t even ask how yours is going. Like I said, traveling made me appreciate others and the world around me so much more and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Going to end this here before I get all nostalgic about studying abroad. (Miss you Flo Flo). More posts about what really is going on in my life soon!

Leave a Reply

